Home >> Languages Act

Languages Act

Official Languages Act 

When Nunavut was created in 1999, it inherited the Northwest Territories Official Languages Act. While it dealt with English and French, it did not reflect the realities of Nunavut. On June 4, 2008, Nunavut’s new Official Languages Act (OLA) was approved by Nunavut’s Legislative Assembly and received concurrence from the Federal Parliament on June 11, 2009. The new Act established the Inuit Language (“Inuktitut”), English and French as Nunavut’s Official Languages. The Act maintained all the rights and privileges of English and French speakers, while raising the Inuit Language to equal status – a first in Canadian history. 


Learn How to Comply with Nunavut's Language Acts

The Languages Act
How To Comply With Nunavut's
Language Act's Handbook
Eng  |  Inuin  | Inuk Eng  |  Inuin  | Inuk